You Are Here:Home » Tournaments



The Irish Open, Europe’s longest established poker tournament, was first held in 1981 by the late, great Terry Rogers.

Terry had visited Vegas and befriended legends such as Benny Binion, Johnny Moss and Doyle Brunson, taking a keen interest in No Limit Texas Holdem, a variation of the game previously unknown outside the US

Upon returning to Ireland Terry established the Irish Open which became instrumental in spreading No Limit Holdem’s popularity throughout Ireland and across Europe.

Explore the fascinating history of Irish poker and Europe’s longest running poker tournament, sample the atmosphere of previous year’s event in the below articles and check out who came out on top in our history archives. 

Card Player: How the Irish Changed the Face of Poker


Past Winners

2013 Ian Simpson
2012 Kevin Vandersmissen
2011 Niall Smyth
2010 James Mitchell
2009 Christer Johansson
2008 Neil Channing
2007 Marty Smyth
2006 Vincent Melinn
2005 John Falconer
2004 Ivan Donaghy
2003 Joe Beevers
2002 Nick Bernie
2001 Jenny Hegarty
2000 Alan Betson
1999 Liam Barker
1996 Liam Flood
1994 Mickey Finn
1993 Christie Smith
1992 Noel Furlong
1991 Colette Doherty
1990 Liam Flood
1989 Noel Furlong
1988 Jimmy Langan
1987 Noel Furlong
1986 Bryan McCarthy
1985 Irene Tier
1984 Tony Byrne
1983 Jimmy Langan
1982 Frank Conway
1981 Sean Kelly
1980 Colette Doherty