Download Windows version

You Are Here:Home » Irish Poker Open

Irish Poker Open 2009

Christer Johansson wins €600,000 first prize at the Irish Open

Christer Johansson won the Irish Open 2009, winning a first prize of €600,000. The 39-year old Swede is a well-known online cash game specialist who plays under the handle 'sendmemore'. Johansson triumphed over a professional-heavy field of 700 players, including such stars as Dan Harrington, Jamie Gold, Phil Laak, Marty Smyth, Ciaran O'Leary and Neil Channing.

TV presenter and former model Kara Scott finished in second place, taking home €312,600, with Andrew Pantling receiving €205,200 for third place and Antanas Gueorguiev winning €163,300 for finishing fourth. Lee Brooke-Pearce (€130,600), William Kassouf (€100,800), Bradley Verburg (€74,600), Andy Andy Bradshaw (€56,000) and Irishman Philip Baker (€37,400) finished in fifth through ninth places respectively.

Sixteenth place finisher Marcel Koch became's €100,000 Sole Survivor by outlasting more than one hundred other online qualifiers, winning a prize package worth €100,000.

The tournament began on Friday, April 10th and featured a total prizepool of €2,240,000. The buy-in for the tournament was €3,500 and 72 players made the money. A live webcast and comprehensive updates were available throughout the weekend on the official Irish Open blog.